The History of Cobblers Cove
Joss Haynes was a sugar cane planter and a politician who was active in local government throughout his career. As was common amongst the Barbados elite, the family built a weekend beach retreat where they could escape the island's windy and rugged east coast - they chose Cobblers Cove. The original plantation house was built in 1944 on the site of the original Quaker Battery Station and was then called Camelot, a name still retained today as one of the signature suites in the Great House as well as the hotel’s restaurant. At this time, the west coast of Barbados was largely undeveloped.
In 1968, Camelot was sold to Alan Godsal and his wife, Lady Elizabeth. Camelot was renamed as Cobblers Cove after the Frigate Bird, also called the Cobbler bird, which you still see fishing outside the hotel in Godings Bay. The house was converted into a hotel and by the 1980s was well established as a luxury boutique hotel with a reputation for fine food and wines, becoming a member of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux collection of hotels and resorts.
More recently, Alan’s son, Hugh, took on the role of overseeing the management of Cobblers Cove and alongside his wife Sam, remains closely involved in the development of the property and its direction for the future.
The Great House
The Cobblers Cove main house, now known as the Great House, was built in 1944 by Joss Haynes and has undergone extensive renovations and expansion works over the years to complete its transformation from a family beach house to a luxury boutique resort hotel. Happily today the iconic pink and white building still retains the beauty of the original architecture with its charming bay windows and turreted roof tops.
First impressions on arrival at the sun-washed coral pink stone frontage are of the striking views through the Great House out to the blue waters of the ocean beyond - a stunning Bajan welcome. The house is home to the terraced Camelot Restaurant and Bar, both open to balmy tropical breezes and overlooking the palm fringed beach and the poolside deck.
The elegant Drawing Room is also situated in the main house. Designed in comfortable colonial style, it's the perfect hideaway to curl up and relax with a good book, enjoy a board game or meet friends and family. Set atop the Great House are the hotel’s two magnificent signature suites, the Camelot and Colleton, the crowning glory of Cobblers Cove’s unrivalled suite collection.
Cobblers Cove has always been proud to embrace its Bajan heritage which is reflected in the use of indigenous resources throughout the hotel – the original steel in the buildings came from the old island railway, the decorative coral rock was carved on the island and all the furniture is made in Barbados. The architecture blends the grandeur of an English estate with the laidback style and tropical vibrance of the Caribbean. The same potent combination gives Cobblers Cove its authentic character and charm.